Art & Photography

Photography: The majestic Peafowl

The term ‘Peacock’ is used for the male peafowl; the female peafowl is known as ‘Peahen’ and their offspring are called Peachicks. There are three species of peafowl, the Indian, Green and Congo, found mostly in India, Australia and Africa respectively.

Arguably Peacock is the most beautiful looking bird of all and is the national bird of India. It is known for patch beneath its eye, elegant slender neck, its colourful feathers and most importantly elegant eye spotted tail. The lesser known peahen is sometimes brown or grey and its feathers are not bright and colourful as that of peacock’s.

Peafowl are forest birds that nest on ground, but roost in trees. They are omnivores and eat most plant parts, flower petals, seed heads, insects and other arthropods, reptiles and amphibians. The diet depends upon what part of the world they live in.

Peafowl are really big birds that can fly but they rarely do, only doing so to get away from predators and to rest on trees. It is interesting to know that male peafowl are one of the largest flying birds. At an average, they can live up to 20 years.

Facebook Comments

About the author

Kaushal Bhat

Kaushal Bhat

Interesting updates directly to your inbox!

Join our mailing list to receive weekly updates from our website.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Follow us on social media for interesting updates and support us!